

N. 180217b

Saturday 17.02.2018

Resignations and Appointments

Appointment of bishop of Iba, Philippines

Appointment of Members of the Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors

Appointment of bishop of Iba, Philippines

The Holy Father has appointed as bishop of Iba, Philippines, the Rev. Msgr. Bartolome Gaspar Santos, of the clergy of the diocese of Malolos, currently vicar general.

H.E. Msgr. Bartolome Gaspar Santos

H.E. Msgr. Bartolome Gaspar Santos was born in Santa Maria, Bulacan, in the diocese of Malolos, on 1 December 1967. After his high school studies at the Immaculate Conception Minor Seminary of Malolos and courses in philosophy and theology at the University of Santo Tomas Ecclesiastical Faculties of Manila, he obtained a licentiate in biblical theology in 1999 from the Pontifical Gregorian University in Rome.

He was a ordained priest for the diocese of Malolos on 27 August 1992.

Subsequently he served as vicar in the *San Pascual Baylon* parish of Obando, Bulacan (1992-1994) and in the *San Isidro Labrador* parish, Pulilan, Bulacan (1994-1995), and spiritual director and professor at the Immaculate Conception Minor Seminary of Malolos (1995-1996).

Returning home after his studies in Rome, he first continued his service in the same roles at the Immaculate Conception Minor Seminary of Malolos (1999-2005), and then became rector (2005-2009). From 2005 to 2013 he also served as episcopal vicar for religious.

In 2009 he was appointed rector and moderator of the pastoral team of the National Shrine of Our Lady of Fatima in Valenzuela City, in 2010 he became a parish priest.

From 2013 he was Vicar General of the diocese of Malolos.

Appointment of Members of the Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors

The Holy Father has appointed the following as Members of the Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors:

- Sister Jane Bertelsen, F.M.D.M., Great Britain;
- Sister Arina Gonsalves, R.J.M., India;
- Professor Ernesto Caffo, Italy;
- Professor Neville John Owen, Australia;
- Professor Benyam Dawit Mezmur, Ethiopia;
- Mr. Nelson Giovanelli Rosendo dos Santos, Brazil;
- Professor **Myriam Wijlens**, Netherlands;
- Ms. Sinalelea Fe'ao, Tonga;
- Ms. Teresa Kettelkamp, United States of America.