

N. 200623a

Tuesday 23.06.2020

Resignations and Appointments

Resignation of bishop of Carora, Venezuela

Resignation of metropolitan archbishop of Cagayan de Oro, Philippines, and appointment of new metropolitan archbishop

Resignation of bishop of Carora, Venezuela

The Holy Father has accepted the resignation from the pastoral care of the diocese of Carora, Venezuela, presented by Bishop Luis Armando Tineo Rivera.

Resignation of metropolitan archbishop of Cagayan de Oro, Philippines, and appointment of new metropolitan archbishop

The Holy Father has accepted the resignation from the pastoral care of the archdiocese of Cagayan de Oro, Philippines, presented by Archbishop Antonio J. Ledesma, S.J.

The Pope has appointed Bishop Jose A. Cabantan of Malaybalay as metropolitan archbishop of Cagayan de Oro, Philippines.

Archbishop-elect Jose A. Cabantan

Archbishop-elect Jose A. Cabantan was born in Lagonglong, East Misamis, on 19 June 1957. He carried out his secondary studies at Saint John the Baptist High School in Lagonglong. He was subsequently awarded a bachelor's degree in chemical engineering from the Cebu Institute of Technology in Cebu City, a master's

degree in pastoral ministry at the Saint John Vianney Theological Seminary of Cagayan de Oro, and a licentiate in sacred theology at the Loyola School of Theology in Manila.

He was ordained a priest on 30 April 1990 in Lagonglong for the metropolitan archdiocese of Cagayan de Oro.

After a year as deputy parish priest at the Cathedral, he served from 1991 to 1995 as administrator of the San Roque parish of Catarman, Camaguin. From 1995 to 1997 he served as dean of studies at the San Jose de Mindanao seminary of Cagayan de Oro. After three years of study at the Loyola School of Theology and a year as director of the San Jose Seminary in Quezon City, from 2000 to 2007 he served as formator at the Saint John Vianney Theological Seminary of Cagayan de Oro. From 2007 to 2010 he served as parish priest of the Medalla Milagrosa parish in Cagayan de Oro.

On 18 February 2020 he was elected as bishop of Malaybalay, and consecrated the following 30 April.

Within the Catholic Bishops' Conference of the Philippines he was elected as president of the Episcopal Commission for the base communities.