The Holy See
back up



In fulfilment of the proposal made by the first Ordinary Assembly of the Synod of Bishops, Pope Paul VI, on 11 April 1969, instituted, in connection with the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, an International Theological Commission. He approved the statutes ad experimentum, and successively appointed its members.

The task of the Commission is that of helping the Holy See and primarily the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith in examining doctrinal questions of major importance.

The President of the Commission is the Prefect pro tempore of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, presently H.Em. Card. Víctor Manuel FERNÁNDEZ.

The General Secretary is the Reverend Msgr. Piero Coda, lecturer in systematic theology at the “Sophia” University Institute, Loppiano, Italy. [Bulletin of the Holy See Press Office, 29 September 2021]

The Commission is composed of theologians from diverse schools and nations, noted for their knowledge and faithfulness to the Magisterium of the Church. The members, which number no more than 30, are nominated by the Holy Father ad quinquennium after having been proposed by the Cardinal Prefect of the Congregation and after consultation with the Bishops’ Conferences.

The Commission gathers in assemblea plenaria at least once per year, but work is also done by means of subcommittees. The results of the studies are presented to the Holy Father and delivered to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith for its appropriate use.

With the Motu Proprio Tredecim anni iam of 6 August 1982, Blessed Pope John Paul II promulgated the definitive statues of the Commission.


Address: Palazzo del Sant'Uffizio, 00120 Città del Vaticano.
Telephone: (+39) (0) 669895971