The new Members and Consultors of the Pontifical Council for the Laity

The Holy Father had nominated the Members (37) and the Consultors (30) of the Pontifical Council for the Laity for the next five years. The Members comprise 24 laypeople (six of whom reconfirmed in their mandate), 9 cardinals and 4 bishops. The Consultors include 13 laypeople, 9 bishops (of whom five Secretaries of Offices of the Roman Curia, who are "de iure" Consultors of our Pontifical Council), and 8 priests. Fifteen of the Consultors have been reconfirmed in their post.

Called to be direct collaborators of the Successor of Peter in his pastoral mission at the service of all the *christifideles laici*, the Members and Consultors of the Pontifical Council for the Laity – men and women – represent the various continents, cultures and social environments in which the people of God live. Mouthpieces and interpreters of a great variety of situations and experiences, they turn the Council into a privileged place for the presence of the laity in the Roman Curia, and an institution in which their hopes and concerns are expressed at the heart of the universal Church. Below we list the new Members and Consultors of the Pontifical Council for the Laity

Members

- H. E. Card. Francisco Alvarez Martinez, archbishop of Toledo (Spain)
- H. E. Card. Desmond Connell, archbishop of Dublin (Ireland)
- H. E. Card. Salvatore De Giorgi, archbishop of Palermo (Italy)
- H. E. Card. Ivan Dias, archbishop of Bombay (India)
- H. E. Card. Antonio José González Zumárraga, archbishop of Quito (Ecuador)
- H. E. Card. Cláudio Hummes, archbishop of São Paulo (Brazil)
- H. E. Card. François-Xavier Nguyên Van Thuân, president of the Pontifical Council of Justice and Peace
- H. E. Card. José da Cruz Policarpo, Patriarch of Lisbon (Portugal)
- H. E. Card. Julio Terrazas Sandoval, archbishop of Santa Cruz de la Sierra (Bolivia)
- Archbishop Robert Sarah, Secretary of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples
- The Most Rev. Josip Bozanić, archishop of Zagreb (Croatia)
- Msgr. Francisco Javier Martínez Fernández, bishop of Córdoba (Spain)

- Msgr. Francesco Lambiasi, bishop of Anagni-Alatri (Italy)
- Prof. Carl Anderson (USA)
- Mr. Said A. Azer (Egypt)
- Dr. Marcello Bedeschi (Italy)
- Mr. Tanios Chahwan (Lebanon)
- Senator Prof. Carlos Corsi (Colombia)
- Mrs. Maria Eugenia Díaz de Pfennich (Mexico)
- Mr. Vladimor Durikovic (Slovakia)
- Mrs. Crescencia Gabijan Cabilao (Philippines)
- Prof. Mary Ann Glendon (USA)
- Mrs. Christiana Habsburg-Lothringen (Austria)
- Prof. Thomas Hangsoon Han (Korea)
- Mrs. Priscilla Kuye (Nigeria)
- Mrs. Yuk Fai Lai (China)
- Dr. Manfred Lütz (Germany)
- Prof. Pedro Moraid Vieira (Angola)
- Mr. Allan Panozza (Australia)
- Mrs. Nicoletta Pisa (Great Britain)
- Mrs. Antoinette Prudence (Mauritius)
- Dr. José Riera i Mas (Spain)
- Prof. Michal Sewerinski (Poland)
- Mrs. Jacqueline Sfeir (Palestine)
- Mrs. Catherine Soublin (France)
- Prof. Nazario Vivero (Venezuela)
- Prof. Alexei Youdine (Russia)