Back Top Print

Dicasterium pro Communicatione


On 27 June 2015 Pope Francis established the Secretariat for Communication in his Apostolic Letter issued Motu Proprio on the current context of communications. The new Dicastery of the Roman Curia has the task of the overall restructuring, reorganization and consolidation of "all of the realities which, in various ways up to the present have dealt with communications" in order to "respond ever better to the needs of the mission of the Church". In this light the Holy See's communications system is being reevaluated.

Through this restructuring the Apostolic See can refer to the Secretariat as the single point of reference for communication, which has become increasingly complex and interdependent, reflecting the current media reality.

The entities involved include the:

  • Vatican Television Center
  • Vatican Publishing House
  • L'Osservatore Romano
  • Pontifical Council for Social Communications
  • Vatican Radio
  • Holy See Press Office
  • Photographic Service
  • Vatican Internet Service
  • Vatican Printing Press

The entities above will be merged according to an established calendar and, in the meantime, continue to  carry out their own activities now under the direction of the Secretariat for Communication.

In his Motu Proprio, the Holy Father also noted that, in agreement with the Secretariat of State, the new Dicastery assumes responsibility  for the Holy See’s institutional website:, and the Twitter service of the Supreme Pontiff: @pontifex.

(Annuario Pontificio 2016)

* * *

Members of the Dicastery for Communication

  • Cardinal Thomas Aquino Manyo Maeda, Archbishop of Osaka (Japan)
  • Cardinal Mauro Gambetti, O.F.M. Conv., Archpriest for Saint Peter's Basilica in the Vatican
  • Cardinal Chibly Langlios, Bishop of Les Cayes, Haiti
  • Cardinal Charles Maung Bo, Archbishop of Yangon, Myanmar
  • Cardinal Leonardo Sandri, Prefect of the Congregation for the Oriental Churches
  • Cardinal Marcello Semeraro, Prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints
  • Bishop Emmanuel Adetoyese Badejo of Oyo
  • Bishop Nuno Brás da Silva Martins, Auxiliary of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Bishop Valdir José de Castro, S.S.P., of Campo Limpo, Brazil
  • Bishop Ginés Ramón García Beltrán of Guadix, Spain
  • Archbishop Gintaras Grušas of Vilnius, Lithuania
  • Archbishop Borys Gudziak of Philadelphia of the Ukrainians
  • Bishop Stanislas Lalanne of Pontoise, France
  • Archbishop Jorge Eduardo Lozano of San Juan de Cuyo (Argentina)
  • Archbishop Ivan Maffeis of Perugia-Città della Pieve, Italy
  • Archbishop Diarmuid Martin of Dublin, Ireland
  • Bishop Pierre Nguyên Văn Kham of My Tho, Vietnam

Reverend Sr. Nathalie Becquart, X.M.C.J., under-secretary of the Synod of Bishops

  • Dr. Kim Daniels, Advisor to the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops on the Ad Hoc Commission on Religious Freedom
  • Dr. Leticia Soberón Mainero, psychologist and expert in communication, formerly a Consultor to the Pontifical Council for Social Communications (Mexico and Spain)

Superiors of the Dicastery for Communication

  • PrefectPaolo Ruffini
  • Secretary, Msgr. Lucio Adrian Ruiz

                                         * * * 

Director, General Affairs DepartmentPaolo Nusiner 
Director, Editorial Department,Andrea Tornielli
   - Vice Director, Editorial Department,Sergio Centofanti
   - Vice Director, Editorial DepartmentAlessandro Gisotti
- Director of L'Osservatore Romano, Andrea Monda
Director, Holy See Press OfficeMatteo Bruni
   - Vice Director, Holy See Press Office
Cristiane Murray
Director, Technological DepartmentFrancesco Masci
- Director, Theological-Pastoral Department
Nataša Govekar

* * *

Consulters of the Dicastery for Communication

  • Daniel Arasa, Dean of the Faculty of Institutional Social Communication of the Pontifical University of the Holy Cross
  • Ann Carter, Accommunications Partners
  • Professor Antonio Cisternino, President of the University of Pisa's Ateno Information System (CIO)
  • Mr. John E. Corcoran, Founder of Trinity Life Sciences
  • Dino Cataldo Dell'Accio, Chief Information Officer (CIO) of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund (UNJSPF), New York
  • Sr. Veronica Donatello, S.F.A., Head of the Italian Episcopal Conference's Service for the Pastoral Care of Persons with Disabilities (CEI)
  • Dr. Óscar Elizalde Prada, Coordinator of the Department of Communication of CELAM
  • Graham Ellis, deputy director of BBC Radio
  • Fernando Giménez Barriocanal, President and Advisor Delegate of Radio Popolar Cadena COPE
  • Mr. Tomas Insua, Executive director of the Laudato Sì movement
  • Fr. Andrew Kaufa, S.M.M., coordinator of the Office of Communications of the AMECEA Regional Conference of Bishops
  • Fr. James Martin, S.J., Jesuit Magazine America
  • Jean-Marie Montel, Deputy Director General of the Bayard Group and President of the Fédération des Médias Catholiques in France
  • Sr. Adelaide Felicitas Ndilu, S.I.H.M., National Executive Secretary of the Commission for Social Communications of the Kenyan Bishops' Conference and director of Radio Waumini
  • Dr Helen Osman, President of SIGNIS
  • Fr. Fabio PasqualettiS.D.B., Dean of the Faculty of Communication Sciences at the Pontifical Salesian University
  • Paolo Peverini, Lecturer in Semiotics at the LUISS “Guido Carli
  • Fr. George PlattohamS.D.B., Secretary of the Office of Social Communication of the Federation of Asian Bishops' Conferences (FABC)
  • Fr. Eric Salobir, O.P., Promoter General for social communications for the Order of Preachers
  • Michael Paul Unland, Executive director of the Catholic Media Council (CA.ME.CO.)
  • Michael P. Warsaw, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of EWTN Global Catholic Network

Dicastery for Communication

Via della Conciliazione, 5
00120 Città del Vaticano
tel: +39 06 69845050